Rotary Matters, with President Celia

I will not be at Monday’s meeting as I will be playing golf in Yarrawonga, where 16 of us are going from all over the state. We play a four- day competition and do this each year. I will have my mobile with me but internet connection is not good. Please text me or call if you need to get in touch.

Angelo is to be the guest speaker on Monday. He will speak about medical myths as well as hiis visit to Timor Leste with the Rotary Youth Leadership Award.

A reminder that our meeting the following week is on Tuesday, October 23, at Bay Tinh Restaurant, 16 Falcon St Crows Nest (ph: 94385118) at 12.30 for 1pm. Please let me know if you will be there as I need to give numbers to the restaurant.

On Sunday, October 21, is the Crows Nest fair. We have arranged to have a stall there. The Rotary Club of Neutral Bay has offered to lend us a ShelterBbox that we will put up. We will also run a chocolate wheel. There will be more than 200 stalls and it is a great opportunity for us to have some positive PR and run a membership drive. Jennifer is organising a roster for the day. We will need some fit people to set up. I will be back in time to help and I urge everyone to help out. It will be fun as well as promoteg us in Crows Nest. Jennifer will be in touch with everyone.

Rotaract have been good enough to offer to run a training program in social media. This would include using Facebook, Twitter and blogging they will show us how. We can have the use of Phoenix House and we thought it would be a good idea to include other Rotary clubs at a small charge.

Can I have some feedback as to who might be interested in doing this? We may make it an evening event for people who are working. I will let you know more later.

Harold Sharp is attending the District Governor’s Presidents’ dinner on Friday night to represent Crows Nest club. Thank you, Harold.

We held a board meeting on Monday night and approved two young people to send to RYLA in January. Warren is holding his giving night on November 12 so please put this in your diary for 6.30pm.

Hope you all have a great week and see you at the Crows Nest fair on Sunday, October 21.

Leave a comment